Backyard Bird Watching

Since getting my latest toy, the Tamron SP 150-600mm G2, I have been spending more time bird watching.  It really is amazing the sharpness that you can get with this lens and I am loving the close-up views I get of the common birds that I normally see only from a distance.

I need to figure out how to set up more places for the birds to perch in a natural looking area.  I’m finding that I can get some great shots at the feeders but I want more like this one with a natural background.  It’s either that or I need to develop a lot more patience.  It took quite a while for me to capture a few shots with birds in the trees where there was enough light and no leaves blocking the view.  Of course, being what they are, the birds don’t like when I move around so, that’s another challenge.

In any case, I like how this worked out.  This beautiful male cardinal was perched in a dogwood tree in the middle of my yard.  The males usually find a good spot to survey the area around the feeders and keep watch while the female comes down to eat.  I was lucky enough to spot this one on a branch that was not obstructed by other trees.

Good thing I like hanging out in the yard.  Looks like I may be doing this pretty often.

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD G2
600mm @ f/6.3 – 1/125 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

One thought on “Backyard Bird Watching”

  1. Lovely capture of a beautiful bird. I have just moved out of their northernmost range and miss seeing them. I too am trying to photograph birds in a natural setting. Which is not as easy as at the feeder.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment