Turk’s Cap Lily

I felt like a somewhat, knowledgeable nature photographer yesterday thanks to David Akoubian and good eyes.  Joyce and I were driving up through Black Rock Mountain State Park toward the Visitor’s Center when I spotted orange flowers along the side of the road.  I called out – There’s the flowers David was talking about! and she said, what flowers?  Now, I have to admit, she was quite absorbed with driving up a twisty mountain road but to me, they were standing out like a spotlight.

David Akoubian had posted about these recently as one of his favorite native flowers in the North Georgia mountains.  We went back to the area and stopped so I could get a couple of shots.  I was very surprised when I returned to find Joyce talking to one of the Park Rangers.  He was giving us directions to a couple of waterfalls that are in the park.  When we talked about the flowers, he didn’t know what the were – but I did!  He said he had lived in the area all his life and didn’t remember seeing these before.  I don’t know if it is the wet weather we’ve had this year of what but, they are definitely blooming on Black Rock Mountain now.

Turk’s Cap Lily
(Lilium superbum)

Black Rock Mountain State Park
Mountain City, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Tamron SP 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC
300mm @ f/6.3 – 1/80 sec – ISO 400

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

