Oooh, Sparkly!

Every trip to Gibbs Gardens proves to me that I am no horticulturist.  I can identify some plants by sight and there are markers on others to tell me what they are but there are many others that I just don’t know.  In this case, the plant in the background is Lamb’s Ear and they were sparkling with rain/dew drops giving me a great contrast to the little yellow flowers above them.  The cool texture on the flower’s leaves and the water drops on its petals make that interesting as well.

I’m not sure if I actually captured all of the layers of light, pattern and color that there was in the natural scene but I thought this was pretty cool.

Gibbs Gardens
Ballground, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron SP 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC
300mm @ f/18 – 1/60 sec – ISO 100

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

