Rose of Sharon

I have some large bushes in my back yard that were in place when we first moved in.  These plants produce abundant beautiful flowers of three different kinds.  The blossom in my featured image is a double-bloom pink variety which looks somewhat like a carnation.  The other bushes have flowers that will look familiar to anyone who has been in tropical climates as being a Hibiscus relative.  One of these is a red (shown below) and the other, is white.

untitled shoot-5192

The name Rose of Sharon is mentioned in the Bible but it is not a certainty that this plant is the same one.  This plant is not from the Middle East but is native to the Orient and is actually the national flower of Korea.

I’m not quite sure if it is a blessing or a curse that the bushes I have are self-propagating and volunteer plants sprout up around the parents almost every year.  I have been re-locating some of these to different spots with a variety of success.  They seem to prefer a good amount of sun which can be a challenge with a wooded lot like mine.  They don’t require much care at all and attract birds, bees and butterflies.  The only thing I need to do is occasionally trim them back because they grow to be quite tall if untended.  I look forward to these flowers each Summer and they are in bloom for most of the season.

Rose of Sharon “Blushing Bride”
(Hibiscus syriacus)
Roswell, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Nikon 105mm f/2.8 AF Micro-Nikkor
105mm @ f/14 – 1/60 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

