Nature up-close

I’m not absolutely sure this one is quite fair.  While we were riding around in Cades Cove, there were several instances of deer who stood for long periods near the historic cabins.  They kept sticking their heads under a spot in the building and didn’t move even when bunches of people were near.  I heard sometime later, that there are salt licks put out for the deer and I assume that’s what they were after.

In this case, we were taking shots of Dan Lawson’s place and I wandered around the back to see the out-buildings.  I noticed one of the members of our group standing at the back side of a barn and not moving so, I ventured over there.  I found Lou Ramondi watching this deer and taking shots like this and the deer was not about to leave.  Since the subject was so cooperative, I got a few myself.

Here is what the deer really seems to have thought of us:

Smoky Mountains-3848

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron SP 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC
110mm @ f/10 – 1/160 sec – ISO 400

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

