The Stare Down

It is very interesting to see how the creatures of nature react when a person sits out in their environment.  In the case of birds, many of them are easily scared away by the slightest move.  This is frustrating because I want the birds to stay around.  On the other hand, squirrels are happy to stick around forever.  They are hoping that I will go away so they can rummage through the bird feeder.

I was not looking to do squirrel portraits but there he was and since we were just staring at each other, why not?  I guess you can’t argue with nature.  Take what you get and it can turn out to be better than you thought.

Oh, by the way, I won the stare down (kind of).  The squirrel finally gave up and waited until I packed up my tripod and left before he feasted on sunflower seeds.

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD G2
600mm @ f/7.1 – 1/125 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

