Smoky Mountain River

We had several opportunities to visit and photograph the Little River during the Spring in the Smoky Mountains Workshop.  It wasn’t really intended to be the biggest part of the weekend but apparently, this is what Mother Nature wanted us to see.

Right before we started the workshop, a big rain and wind storm came through, knocking down lots of trees and making the weather wet and cold.  On top of that, the drop in temperature resulted in ice and snow at the higher elevations.  These events delayed our visit to Cades Cove and prevented us from going to Clingmans Dome since the roads were closed.

Even though this was more river photography than planned, I got to practice long-exposure for the soft water effect and really learned how to use the circular polarizing filter (CPL) that I’ve had in my bag for a while.  This really opened my eyes to how to compose these scenes and make them more interesting.

While I sometimes felt like we missed out on seeing all that this part of the Smoky Mountains has to offer, I feel like I learned new things that I can put into use in the future.  That’s what a photo workshop is supposed to do so, I would rate this as a great success!  Many thanks to David, Cecil and the Nature in Focus group and all the wonderful participants for a great weekend.

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron SP 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC
18mm @ f/11 – 1 sec – ISO 100

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

1 thought on “Smoky Mountain River”

  1. Great Picture and Great Location too.. Really Appreciate your hard work and efforts. As an photographer i can understand how much efforts it takes to capture Landscapes and most importantly it should look natural and beautiful as well.. So thumbs up for your work and I am also an Photographer, if you would like to see my work then you can see at http://www.nitinkhanna.net and let me know how is it. I woudl love to hear from you. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

