Face down

I have always found it interesting to see plants with flowers that face downward.  You would think that nature would say, this is wrong.  The whole point of having a flower is to attract attention toward the pollen that will allow the plant to reproduce so why point that to the ground?  But, maybe there are cases where the pollinator is not a butterfly or bee but some other creature that is more earth-bound.  Nature always has a reason even if we don’t know what it is.

I suppose I should just accept the fact that the flower is beautiful.  The colors are wonderful and the shapes so, elegant.  Still, my curiosity makes me wonder why it is this way.  Science would say that the plant naturally developed this way to adapt to something in it’s environment.  I think God has a sense of humor and throws a curve every once in while, just to see if we are paying attention.

Chattahoochee Nature Center
Nikon D7100
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
300mm @ f18 –  1/100 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

