Native Azalea

It never seems to fail that when you are looking for something, you can’t find it and right after the deadline passes, that thing is all over the place.  I was searching for azaleas to submit for the Roswell Azalea Festival that started yesterday and couldn’t find any over the last few weeks.  Now, they are in bloom everywhere!

Most of the azaleas we see these days are the Japanese hybrids that are often the red, pink and white flowers that appear in home landscapes.  I think some of the most interesting varieties however, are the native azaleas like this beautiful orange example above.  I am not 100% sure of the variety here but it looks like a Flame Azalea to me.

Chattahoochee Nature Center
Nikon D7100
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
100mm @ f18 –  1/400 sec – ISO 400

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

