Choreography

I really enjoyed my photo shoot for the Roswell Dance Starz last week.  It is amazing to watch how all the pieces come together in a dance production.  There are costumes, lighting, music and of course, the choreography.  But, it is not just a matter of laying out a series of steps across the stage.  There is so much going on with each individual dancer and with the group as a whole.

I think the thing that impressed me the most was how each dancer paid attention to the lines and positioning of the whole body.  Arms and hands are as important as the feet in presenting a graceful pose.  In a group like the one above, there is also consideration to how each dancer is positioned in relation to the others.  Sometimes they are in unison, everyone facing the same way and using the same pose and then, there are times when no two are alike.

I’m not sure if I am more aware of all these things because I can’t do this myself or not but, it is quite a beautiful scene to watch.

Roswell Dance Starz – Tribute Show
Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
44mm @ f6.3 –  1/125 sec – ISO 3200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

