Dance Starz

This week, Friday was my big photography day.  A neighbor asked me to take pictures for the dance group that her daughter is in, the Roswell Dance Starz and I said yes.  They had their final dress rehearsal on Friday evening so, that’s where I was.  Dress Rehearsal is probably the best time to do photos for a stage production.  As a photographer, you can set up pretty much where ever you want and you don’t have to worry about bothering the audience.  You can walk around and get close or change angles and you also have the chance to get before and after shots without battling friends and family to see what’s going on.

It is very interesting doing an event like this.  The girls in the group range in age from 7 to 18 so, there is a wide variety of styles in the performance.  You get everything from little girl cute to young woman elegance.

Stage lighting is also a big challenge.  Lots of dark spots and then you get a huge range of contrast from super bright to extra deep shadows.  I had my camera set to high (3200) ISO most of the time and kept the aperture at f8 so I could still get decent sharpness.  The big problem here is that there is lots of action and it is very hard to stop that when your shutter speed is pretty slow.

In any event, I got some good images and I hope the group is happy with my efforts.  It was great fun to watch the show and I hope I get the chance to do this again in the future.

Roswell Dance Starz 2017 Spring Show
Tribute: A Dancer’s Celebration of Art, Literature, Music, Film and Stage
Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

