Cracker?

The St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park is one of Florida’s oldest continuously running attractions, having opened on May 20, 1893. There are so many things to see here.  Of course, the alligators and crocodiles are the biggest attraction but there are numerous other animals around like this Blue & Gold Macaw.

I saw this guy in a little area near the gift shop and exit of the park.  I don’t think I would have spent much time here except for the fact that I got in the middle of a parrot attention getting contest.  After I took a few quick images of this one, I noticed a red and green macaw on the other side of the walkway.  I gave that one a look and then turned back and the red one started in to talking.

Cracker? Hello?… The words came out loud and clear and were repeated until I turned back and answered him.  Then the yellow on chimed in, not to be out done and the two went back and forth for a while, competing for attention.  Then they decided to play hard to get.  They both refused to talk when a bunch of kids came around and required coaxing to get any more talking.  Performers are so fickle.

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
270mm @ f10 –  1/50 sec – ISO 320

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

