The one day of Winter

I pulled up some of the shots I took from the one weekend that we actually had something resembling January weather this year and found this.  A dogwood tree with one leaf still hanging from the tip of a branch encased in ice.

I can’t say that I am sad that this has been a very mild winter but it is nice to have a change of seasons so we can appreciate what is different in each.  I was just talking to some friends at choir about how the seasons in Atlanta are somehow harder on people’s health than in places where it gets really cold in the winter.

In climates where you get a deep-freeze winter, the weather changes and stays fairly constant.  Your body adjusts and you don’t get a shock to the system with temperatures changing.  In Atlanta, even though the temperatures don’t drop below freezing all too often, you can get 30-40 degree swings during a day.  Sadly, that means cold, flu and allergies.  Oh well, I guess everything has its pluses and minuses.  I’ll just try to stick to the positive and enjoy what I can!

Nikon D7100
Sirui P-204S Monopod
Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
35mm @ f/7.1 –  1/60 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

