What ever happened to Heloise?

I came across this book in a secretary that I inherited from my grandmother.  It is stuffed full of clippings and notes written out on the secrets of successful housekeeping.  When did we stop focusing on wax build-up and tarnish removal?  What happened to the days when Heloise and Dear Abby fought for the top ranking in the newspapers.  Today, those names are barely remembered but they were once known world-wide.

I remember a time when TV commercials were packed with all the marvelous products that would make the tasks of housekeeping so much easier.  Now, all I see is robot vacuum cleaners and Swiffer dusters.

I don’t think America has ceased to care about household cleaning but somehow it seems to have faded into the background.  In any case, if you need to know how to control that wax build-up or remove that pesky ring-around-the-collar, I have just the book for you!

Heloise’s Housekeeping Hints (Ninth edition – 1962)
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Nikon 105mm f/2.8 AF Micro-Nikkor
105mm @ f/22 –  1.3 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

