Right in my own backyard

So, this bird is majestic and absolutely amazing.  I have to say though, I am a bit disappointed.  This is one of the pair of eagles in captivity at the Chattahoochee Nature Center.  It does not make her any less beautiful but, I was hoping to see her wild cousins that frequent the area.

We had heard that the wild eagles were in the area and seen other photographers images so, Joyce and I made the trip over yesterday.  Well, it was a very short trip as the Nature Center is only 15 minutes or so from my house.  Anyway, it was a beautiful day with the temperature around 72° so how could it be bad?

We met up with a fellow photographer who comes to the center all the time.  He had seen one of the wild eagles just a short time before we met up with him.  That one had gone off to hunt along the river and unfortunately, didn’t return while we were there.  At least now I know where to look for them so, maybe we’ll get lucky next time!

Nikon D7100
Sirui P-204S Monopod
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
300mm @ f13 –  1/20 sec – ISO 200

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

1 thought on “Right in my own backyard”

Leave a Reply

