Little Old Lady who?

Well, I thought I was done with the antique toys we have but Joyce reminded me of one more.  The story behind this is that her grandmother went for a visit to the family homeland in Sweden sometime in the early 1900’s and brought back this wind-up tin toy.  It has been around in her family since then but nobody really knew much about it.

The little old lady with a broom has lost much of her original paint but is a great display piece.  When I took her down off the shelf to do some macro shots, I decided to have a closer look and see if there were any identifying marks to help me research the origins.  The only thing I could find was a number D.R.G.M. 140668 stamped on the side.

It turns out the DRGM is the German abbreviation for a Registered Patent (Deutsches Reiches Gebrauchs Musterschutz – meaning protected patented design under the Reich Government.).  So, the toy is German-made but apparently sold in other countries.  Also, this proves out the vintage of the toy.  The DRGM mark was in use from before World War I up through the World War II era of the 194o’s.

It appears that the broom was probably added sometime later to replace what was originally a walking stick.  I found a post with a more well-preserved example of this which is in the Nordic Museum in Stockholm, Sweden.  The description (translated from Swedish) on the museum site is:

Old Woman with feather works, in the original box with lid, of bent and hand-painted sheet metal, gray dress, red apron with white dots, glasses on nose, basket on the back and stick in hand, paces forward, feather work with the wrench back .

drgm140668

Gumma – Old Lady from Nordic Museum

Vintage German wind-up toy
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
Nikon 105mm f/2.8 AF Micro-Nikkor
105mm @ f/22 –  1.6 sec – ISO 100

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

1 thought on “Little Old Lady who?”

Leave a Reply

