Berry College Eagle

Finally, I got over to Rome, Georgia at the right time to see the bald eagle nest at Berry College!  It didn’t look like this was going to happen at all.  When I first arrived on the campus, there were two photographers standing around and looking up at the nest.  They weren’t pointing camera, just looking.  I asked one of them if there was any sign of the birds and he said no, he had been waiting since sunrise (it was after 11:00 when I got there) and had not seen any eagles.

I decided to drive out and see what things looked like at the Old Mill (actually, that was pretty nice – more on that later) and then came back to the nesting site.  Apparently, the one eagle (I think this is the male) had just returned to the nest with a stick to continue the construction work.  After a bit of housekeeping, he popped up out of the nest and perched on a branch in the pine tree to allow us to take portraits.  He then flew to another tree across the parking lot from the nest and stayed there for quite a while.

It was quite a treat to see this magnificent bird in the wild.  I discovered two things on this outing – First, I always wish for more focal length when shooting distant subjects.  Secondly, I discovered that it is VERY hard to follow a moving subject with a 500mm lens zoomed all the way out.  It’s also nearly impossible to use auto-focus when that subject is whizzing by.  Probably need more practice!

Berry College
Rome, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Vanguard Altra Pro 263 AT tripod
[Pro]Master Professional Gimbal Head GH-10 #5111
Sigma 150-500mm F5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM
500mm @ f/11 –  1/1000 sec – ISO 800

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

