Happy, the first word I heard this morning

How did I get so lucky?

The alarm goes off and the first thing I hear is – Happy Anniversary.  That’s how my wife is.  Her eyes pop open and she is already thinking of and talking about what’s to come for the day.  I on the other hand, am still trying to shake the clouds out of my head after I have showered had a cup of coffee and a half-hour has gone by.  In spite of our differences or maybe because of them, I realize we are happy and have been so for 36 years.

It was a rainy morning in Chicago much like it is today in Atlanta.  But on that day, 36 years ago, a beautiful little blonde girl agreed to become my wife.  I’m still not sure why she said yes but I am amazingly blessed that she did!  Since that day, we have shared many thousands, if not millions of smiles and kisses and also our share of worries and tears.  We have grown together through this time.

I know that all living things grow but it seems that we have a choice in how we grow.  We can grow in love and respect for each other or we can grow apart.  We can grow by having a family and a circle of friends that make our lives richer or we can grow in self-centered isolation.  I am grateful that I have been lucky enough to have found someone who keeps me from growing in the wrong direction.  Someone who loves me in spite of my faults and someone I will be happy to spend the rest of my days with.

Thank you Joyce, for 36 years of Happy life together.

I love you

Steve & Joyce Grundy
Married: August 9, 1980
Hazel Crest, Illinois

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

