Milky Way over the Blue Ridge

A little hazy and cloudy but still a good sighting of the Milky Way

Since our mountain trip with the  North Georgia Photography Club was intended as a night-time star shoot, I had to post one Milky Way image.  I almost gave up on our chances here due to all the clouds that came close to covering the sky at sunset.  I decided to make my way back down to the parking area where Joyce had decided to stay with a few others.  We had a good view of the Milky Way from there on our previous visit but I really thought this was when we would be saying good-night and heading out.

The small group that was waiting in the parking area were more positive than I and they convinced me to wait it out for a while.  As it turned out, the sky cleared up mostly but it was still hazy and clouds crossed over the Milky Way at times.  We also got a fair amount of light pollution from Blairsville, Helen, Young Harris and Hiawassee in the surrounding areas. All that said, it was still amazing to see all those stars and we could actually see the Milky Way with the un-aided eye.  Joyce also saw several shooting stars but I always seemed to be looking the wrong way for that.

It was pretty cool when the sun went down which was a great feeling compared to the sweltering weather back in Atlanta.  Have to keep this place on the list for night-shots and find a time of year when the skies are more likely to be crisp and clear.  Really enjoyed the outing and meeting up with my NGPC friends.

Milky Way over Blue Ridge
Brasstown Bald Mountain
Towns and Union Counties, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Tamron SP 10-24mm F/3.5-4.5 Di II
10mm at f/4.5 – 30 sec – ISO 1600

#MilkyWay #nightphotography #stars #galaxy #Georgia #BrasstownBald #BlueRidge #Appalachian #mountains #southern #photography #WithMyTamron #Nikon

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

