Driven to Awakening

The lotus is a symbol of spirtual awakening. How awake are you to the beauty of creation?

To ancient civilizations, the Lotus Flower was a religious symbol representing purity, beauty, rebirth and spiritual awakening.  The white lotus in particular, is depicted in Egyptian, Greek and Hindu mythology as a symbol of great importance.

This made me think about how awake I am to the world around me.  My photographic quest drives me to be more aware of my surroundings.  In doing this, I also want to be more awake spiritually.  Seeing the beauty of nature should bring me to a state of appreciation and remind me that I am called to respond.

I can respond in one of two ways.  I can view the world as something to be possessed, to compete over and be conquered or as a gift to be cherished and shared.  When we see life as a game of “who has the most toys” then everything is a possible prize.  Highly desired when we don’t have it and easily forgotten once attained.  When you see the world as a great gift for us all, you can respond with thankfulness and generosity toward others.

I believe I have a responsibility to not only admire the beauty of God’s creation but also, to be thankful for the great blessings I am surrounded with.  I feel a drive to combine my search for beautiful things to capture photographically with a spiritual growth so I can both get more joy out of life and share the joy I experience with others.  I hope that you can experience this as well by counting the blessings of everyday life.

I saw this blossom at the Atlanta Botanical Garden in a decorative pond on the outskirts of the Edibles Garden.  The white flower on a tall stalk was just crying out for attention.  Glowing in the sunlight against a dark background of grasses planted along the glistening blue water.

Technically, this was not the best time to be trying to get a shot of this beautiful flower.  It was approaching noon on a bright summer day so most of the light was pretty harsh.  I think some of the highlights a the top of the flower got blown out but most of this was in partial shade so the majority of the details are good.  Had to give it a try.  What do you think?

Daily Post Prompt: Drive

Lotus blossom
Atlanta Botanical Garden
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7000
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro
86mm at f/8 – 1/320 sec – ISO800

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

2 thoughts on “Driven to Awakening”

  1. Beautiful photo Steve. When I got back into painting this year (been over 30 years), it reminded me of how an artist sees things. This I think holds true for photographers. I pay more attention to everything around me now. You become a little more hyper-focused I think. Much like a blind person can hear things more than one with sight. Thank you for this photo. Kevin

    Like

  2. Great post Steve … well-written and thoughtful. In my artist statement I say that photography has given me the opportunity to examine the world carefully so we are alike in that respect. Thank you for the reminder … gratitude is the key to happiness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

