Ruby-throated hummingbird

Bird photography can be very challenging. Maybe I should have started with something larger and slower moving?

I have been playing with some new toys that I got recently and have discovered a newfound respect for people who get great bird pictures on a regular basis.  It could be because I am new to the process of trying to capture these beautiful flying creatures.  It could also have something to do with the fact that I have been trying to get shots of a tiny bird that zips around my backyard at something just less than the speed of light.

Hummingbirds are fascinating to many people because of their size and their hovering flight patterns evident while they visit flowers or feeders that are plentiful in the summertime.  I love to watch them especially when we get multiples competing over a feeder.  Dive-bombing and chasing each other away from the prized feeder perch, they provide hours of entertainment.

But when you are trying to get a picture, you quickly discover that all that frantic energy that is so entertaining to watch means your subject does not stay still for long.  My newly acquired Nikon D7100 is capable of being triggered remotely with a WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter.  This is really cool and allows me to open the shutter with a cell phone or tablet without needing to be outside in the sweltering heat of an Atlanta summer.

This works really well once you get everything set up just right.  Of course, that is no small task!  I had to get my tripod set up in a good spot at the right height and angle.  Then, I had to get the settings right and set the focus.  And set the focus. And set the focus…

That was the hardest part.  Trying to find the precise focal point to capture a tiny bird that was not in place while I was focusing.  I didn’t want to keep the focus on auto because that makes noise and often searches around a lot when trying to find a small, fast-moving subject.  After about half a dozen attempts, I found the right focus setting and f/stop to get some sharp images.  Now, if I could just get that little guy to pose where I have the camera pointed while in flight!   I guess I just need to keep trying.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Nikon D7100
Sigma 150-500mm f/5-6.3 DG OS HSM
290mm at f/9 – 1/160 sec – ISO 400

#hummingbird #Atlanta #ATL #Roswell #Georgia #USA #UnitedStates #southern #Nikon

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

2 thoughts on “Ruby-throated hummingbird”

Leave a Reply

