Frost Memorial Chapel – Berry College

The stained glass windows of the Frost Chapel depict the life of Christ, and were donated by the Daughters of the American Revolution in memory of the boys who died in World War II.

I was looking for a photo opportunity this weekend when I saw a post from David Akoubian of a Bald Eagle he saw on his trip to the Tetons.  I remembered that there is an eagle’s nest on the campus of Berry College in Rome, Georgia which is a little over an hour’s drive away from me.  I mentioned this idea to David and he told me the eagles spend their summer somewhere that it isn’t as hot so, they would not be at the nest.  Disappointed, I went looking for other ideas but on Sunday, we decided to drive out to visit Berry College anyway.

Berry College_Jun 26 2016_0082_HDR
The entrance to Frost Memorial Chapel at Berry College

I had not been out to the campus for many years but I remembered that the buildings and grounds were very beautiful.  I only got to see a small portion of the campus on my first visit.  This is understandable since the campus actually covers over 27,000 acres making it the largest college campus (in contiguous area) in the world.

Berry College was founded by Martha Berry, the daughter of a wealthy local business owner.  In the early 1900’s, Ms. Berry became aware of the educational needs of the poor children in the rural south.  In 1902 she founded the Boys’ Industrial School and added a girls program in 1909 which together, grew into what became Berry College in 1926.

From the beginnings, the school was focused on Christian principles and teaching practical skills.  The principle of hard work has been one of the driving forces of the institution. Today, every student of Berry College is required to have a job in addition to their studies.  In the early days of the college, students actually built many of the structures, including the Frost Memorial Chapel that I went to visit on this trip.

Berry College_Jun 26 2016_0097_8_9HDR
A view of the interior

Berry College is beautiful in many ways.  It’s vast wooded landscape, historic buildings and inspiring high standards make it a great place to visit.  It is amazing how there are so many places that are close by that we never take the time to explore.  I will be back before long to check out the city of Rome and learn even more about this interesting area.

Frost Memorial Chapel
Berry College
Rome, Georgia, USA

Nikon D7100
Tamron 16-300 Di II VC PZD Macro

#Georgia #Rome #BerryCollege #church #FrostMemorialChapel #southern #photography #WithMyTamron #Nikon

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

1 thought on “Frost Memorial Chapel – Berry College”

Leave a Reply

