Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves – The long and winding road

Last month, my wife and I went out to see some of our country’s Western National Parks for the first time.  I can’t wait to get back out there again!  Whether it is back to the same parks for a look at all the spots we missed, or to some of the other parks that we’ve never experienced before.

Shafer Canyon Road

The first thing I thought of related to this week’s challenge is the road that leads down through Shafer Canyon (shown above) in Canyonlands National Park in southeastern Utah.  The road descends down through the canyon with twists and hair-pin turns in switch back fashion.  It was amazing to see cars and bicyclist wind their way down this dirt trail with absolutely no railings to prevent you from dropping right off the edge of the cliffs.

This unpaved road runs for 18 miles through the “Island in the Sky” district of Canyonlands through the middle of the park and out to the nearby town of Moab, Utah.

Shafer_Canyon_Panorama3
View of Shafer Canyon Road where making its was out to Moab

Maybe, when we get the chance to return here, I will be brave enough to follow this “Long and Winding Road”.  But, I doubt it – pretty scary looking to me.

Shafer Canyon Road
Island in the Sky District
Canyonlands National Park
near Moab, Utah, USA

Curve

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves – The long and winding road”

  1. I have visited Canyonlands a couple of years ago. That road looks steep! I see you were content just taking the photograph 🙂 Beautiful country. I wouldn’t mind coming back there either.

    Like

  2. is an awesome place 2 go ride enduro bikes for hours upon hours …Those dirt roads go all over utah an colorado, in da rocky mtns….is amazing i go sumtimes for hours down those canyons, yes u should return an play …while it is still a playable area….is awesomely unique yes indeed………great shoTZ! above 🙂 i wanna go fly over moab with my ultralight sumday.that’d be awesome 2 me…

    Like

Leave a Reply

