Life is a journey, not a destination

Why is it that even though we have heard this Ralph Waldo Emerson quote so often, what we always seem to see is only the destination in photographs?  The image above was taken on the trail that leads to Delicate Arch, the most iconic and probably most photographed site in Arches National Park.  Everybody has likely seen that arch if you’ve seen any images of Utah.  But, how often do you see what the trail looks like to get there?

RMNP_May 07 2016_1084

I am trying to learn to always be present to what is right in front of me.  I mean, getting to the destination is often difficult. You need to watch your step and not drop your camera equipment off the side of a cliff or anything but, what are we missing on the way there and the way back?  If I had put my camera away as soon as I got the “special” shot I was going for, would I have even seen the beauty of everything nearby if I hadn’t kept my eyes open?

I think maybe, life is both a journey and a destination.  The destination is where ever you are right now and the journey is everything that has led to this point as well as the path right in front of you.

RMNP_May 07 2016_1094-001

 

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

