It’s just a little bit further…

I don’t know how many times I heard this phrase when on the way up the trail to see Delicate Arch in Arches National Park.  Honestly, it was Much More than a little bit further!  I guess I mis-read the information on this trail.  I swear it said easy hike, about 1/2 a mile.  Well, it is more like a mile and a half and it’s a steep incline with a few spots where the trail gets very narrow and close to the edge.

I was determined to get up there and see this icon of Utah.  I mean, this thing is on the state license plates.  Unfortunately, this was another one of those days when it was threatening to rain and my very practical wife was questioning the wisdom of hiking out to the middle of nowhere with those dark clouds moving closer and closer.  I pushed on by myself, sure that this natural delight was just around the corner but, as the trail got steeper, I still couldn’t see anything.

RMNP_May 07 2016_1069-PANO-001
This is the view about half-way down the trail – I’m not kidding about steep

I actually turned around at one point where I was sure I either lost the trail or it was just going to take too long.  After walking back down for a few minutes, I saw Joyce walking up to meet me.  We decided we had come this far so, why not keep going and finally made it to our destination.  Of course, there were a bunch of people scattered all over the place and even on this stormy evening, photographers were set up everywhere.

I understand there is an observation point below the arch where you can just drive up and see it from the parking area.  If you’re not up for a substantial hike, you might want to try that.  I can only say that if you go to Arches National Park, make sure you see this.  It is worth the effort.

I can’t emphasize enough the importance of keeping your eyes open at all times.  While the arch we were going to see is amazing, I think I got my best images on the trail when coming back down.  You might think that a rocky, desert trail is kind of boring but it is really amazing and at sunset on a stormy evening.  Wow!!

RMNP_May 07 2016_1087
Easy walking where the trail levels out and look at that sunset

 

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

