A different point of view

It’s always a challenge for me to go to a site that has been photographed a million times from the same point of view.  There’s that one shot.  The one Ansel Adams did or the one that has been in all the travel magazines.  You just got to get that one, right?

Well, when it is the first time being at this place for me and that shot has been in my mind all along, yeah I need that one.  At the same time, it’s been done a million times. It’s easy for the conditions to be wrong and that is a setup for disappointment, or inspiration!

RMNP_May 08 2016_0859
Mesa Arch from the side with a view of the Mesa beyond

When we went to see Mesa Arch in Canyonlands National Park, it was not at that perfect time of sunrise or sunset and there were lots of people walking around and posing for their tourist shot in front of the arch.  These situations usually frustrate me initially, then I start looking around for alternates to what I originally had in mind.  It’s amazing what is right in front of you when you open your eyes.

RMNP_May 08 2016_0861
Lupines in bloom along the trail to Mesa Arch

I know it is always a good idea to plan for where you want to go and try to get there when the light and conditions are right but, that is not always possible.  When faced with that situation when you plans go astray, you always have a choice.  Walk away complaining about how fate has wronged you again or, look for that hidden gem that was put there just for you to find.

RMNP_May 08 2016_0847
The more traditional view (wish I was there at sunrise!)

Look at the detail rather than the big picture.  Walk around to the back or side or try a higher or lower vantage point.  Include those annoying people in your shot.  Sometimes that gives scale to what you are seeing and sometimes, they’re just darned funny.  The point I’m trying to make here is, there is no 1 perfect spot for any location.  There are many.  Looking at a place from a different point of view is often the source of the best pictures and a way to keep yourself from going crazy from all those irritating things that spoil your plans!

Mesa Arch
Canyonlands National Park
Southeastern Utah, USA

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

