Blue Ridge exploration

Although there are things about Facebook that I don’t like, the ability to keep in touch with people who share the same interests is a wonderful plus of participating in this social media application.  I saw an event posting from the North Georgia Photography Club for a sunrise shoot at Black Rock Mountain State Park.  Since the club is located in Dahlonega, Georgia which is an hour or more drive for me, I hadn’t joined them previously but I knew some of the members so, I contacted my friend Mike Sussman and got the OK to join them.

Black Rock_May 28 2016_0001-001We met at a church just outside the park entrance and, by special permission, were able to get in the gate before the official opening time.  It certainly was a privilege to be able to drive in and have the whole place to ourselves!

We went in to a nice platform that was set up as a scenic overlook which gave us a wonderful, panoramic view of the Blue Ridge Mountains even if it was a little crowded with photographers and camera equipment.

Outings like this are such a fantastic way to visit a location that you haven’t been to previously.  The park is within an hour of so of most of the club’s members, many of them had been here before and knew their way around.  Since the group was also composed of photographers, there was a wealth of experience on the best place to shoot and what settings work best.

Black Rock_May 28 2016_0065
North Georgia Photography Club members at overlook

The group next moved on to the Visitor’s Center and wandered about that area to get another view of the mountains and enjoy the natural beauty of the park.

From here, we all went out for breakfast at Granny’s Kuntry Kitchen in Clayton, Georgia before going on to the next part of our outing.

I will continue the story in tomorrow’s post.

All of these images were taken with my latest lens acquisition: Tamron’s nice ultra-wide angle beauty, the SP 10-24mm  f/3.5-4.5 Di II.  So far, I’m getting great results with this lens.  I was also pleasantly surprised to find that it has a minimum focus distance of just under 10 inches which I think will make for some neat close-up wide-angle opportunities!

#WithMyTamron

 

 

Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

Leave a Reply

