Bonsai gardening in the desert

RMNP_May 08 2016_0787

There is so much to see when visiting the National and State Parks in Utah that I hardly know where to begin.  This image is a pinyon pine at one of the overlooks at Dead Horse State Park.  These trees are dotted all over the landscape in this area and are so interesting because the trunks look like twisted knots of driftwood.  If you didn’t see the green leaves on it, you would think the tree was dead.  As you can see from this shot, they grow in the most unexpected places, like a crack on the side of a cliff or a boulder.  Nature is amazing!

Dead Horse State Park
Moab, UT

Nikon D7000
Nikkor 18.0-105.0 mm @ 48mm
f/18    1/160 sec   ISO400
Author: stgrundy

Photography is my way to capture and share the amazing beauty of God’s handiwork in the people and places that I experience every day. I focus mainly on nature and travel subjects but also do alot of event work for my church and the occasional wedding or portrait session. My residence is Roswell, Georgia – a northern suburb of Atlanta. I try to get around the Southeast as often as possible and would love to explore other parts of the USA and the rest of the world. Member of: Roswell Photographic Society Contributing artist: Getty Images

3 thoughts on “Bonsai gardening in the desert”

  1. This sure is the same tree as in my post. I will have to take a closer look as I assumed it was a cedar. We have pinion pines on my property and they look more like normal pines. I guess the wind and weather can make a big difference.

    Like

    1. Hey, Denise. You could be totally right about it being a cedar. I saw another tree near this that was marked as a pinyon pine and just thought they were the same. A friend of mine saw the picture and immediately called it a cedar so, I don’t know for sure. In any event, it sure is an interesting tree.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

